Helz-Design

Uniqueness


Blogger are talking about it.
Advertisers talk about it.
Companies talk about it.
Even politicians talk about it.

It is important, it is so important!

How do we differentiate from other people?
What is the stuff that makes us so unique?

Unique Selling Point

Everybody is talking about the unique selling point or unique selling proposition, short USP.
It is kind of new God people are worshiping.
Only if I have such an USP, only if I differentiate from other, only then I will be successful.

If not – my customer might shop at another shop.
You can get bread and buns at every corner, but the brownies of the Miller’s are the best.

Quite right.
Baker Miller bakes fantastic brownies. Nothing better.
But this uniqueness is in the eye of the beholder, or better in the taste of the eater.

  1. Each advertisement must make a proposition to the consumer. Not just words, not just product puffery, not just show-window advertising. Each advertisement must say to each reader: “Buy this product, and you will get this specific benefit.”
  2. The proposition must be one that the competition either cannot, or does not, offer. It must be unique—either a uniqueness of the brand or a claim not otherwise made in that particular field of advertising.
  3. The proposition must be so strong that it can move the mass millions, i.e., pull over new customers to your product.

The advertised product should be regarded as special. Nothing better.

Is it really special?
Or is it just an idea?
A marketing Strategy!

I bet it is something like a promise. A promise, which is made by the marketing department.
A promise made to tie the customer to the product.

„Buy this drink, and you will get slender in a minute. “
„If you use this cell phone, everybody will realize how cool you are.

We allow them to fool us.

We allow ads to tell us, that in believing the USP, we would automatically become unique too.

We look younger …
We will become healthier …
We will become cooler …
We will be much more sexy …

… than our neighbor.

When I started this blog, I also started to read a lot, especially how to blog.
I learned that a blog should be unique.

So I was advised to make up my mind.
What to talk about – choose one point.
Politics, Design, Recipes, Art, my town ……

To be honest … you can find a hundred blogs in every language for each subject.
Why should people wait for blog number 101?

Another advice is: be target group specific!
Advertisers are target group specific.

Actually they spent tons of money to find out about the target group and to find out how to write directly to the point to satisfy the target group.

Really this is senseless to me.

Why should I make up my mind?
Why should I run after a so called target group?

Don’t think that I disregard my readers!
On the contrary.
I really love you my estimated reader.
Every comment is salt in my soup.

Do we really know, if a report or a post will be interesting for us?
Don’t this depend on the form of the day – reading and writing?

Sometimes I start reading, because I love the author.
Or I am interested in the subject. Nice layout – I will start reading.
Maybe I am bored, and that article promises some leisure.

Am I part of the target group?
Seems so – I am interested and I am reading.

Actually I am interested in many subject … but I think this is my uniqueness.
A very broad interest.
My ability to communicate with so many people.

Am I cooler or more sexy?
No idea … but I am unique … that’s what I am.

lovehelz

Enhanced by Zemanta

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Uniqueness

  1. Pingback: Review Friday « Helz-Design

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

