Helz-Design

How do they do … books?


Photo via Stockexchange

Do you ask yourself how certain stuff is produced? How they do it?
I am asking myself quite often this question. I am so curious.

There is something I already wanted to know when I was a little child. You know that I love to read.
So how do they do books?

Meanwhile I am happy that I am able to answer this question.
And while answering this question, I can also show how they work in my industry.
How a Media designer works.

I am doing anything that is connected with Pre-Press. I am working closely with Publishers and Printing Shops.

First person in book-production is the author.
The author has to write a book. Then he offers this book to publishers. When the publisher accepts the book, I become part of the game.

Roughly you can distinguish six sections until you can hold the finished book in your hands.

  1. Design:
    Creating the layout. Sometimes you have to stick to an existing layout, since textbooks are published in series.
  2. Preparing type setting:
    Editorial office is checking the text of the author and prepares it for typesetting.
    They specify headlines etc. Media designers should never have to decide if text has to be set bol or italic. This is written down in typesetting specifications.
  3. Typesetting and proof reading:
    Entering the text into layout, make up, submitting text to proof reading.
  4. Pre Press:
    In my opinion #3 is also part of Pre Press, but this part is explicit for image processing.
  5. Printing:
    Happens usually via Offset printing, but also via digital printing. Digital printing is similar to the way you print a text at home or in office.
  6. Book binding.

Certainly we don’t have to follow the steps one after the other.
I am a full service company and offer book production from A to Z. Sent the manuscript to me and I will finally send a printable PDF to publisher or printing shop.

I have visualized the work flow of book production. Working steps are calculated via Working Days (WD). A very rough calculation. Sometimes it happens very fast, and sometimes it is a very slow process.
Some parts can be influenced by me, others no chance. Proof reading by the author (for example) – this can be very quick, if he has read the text carefully before sending it to publisher. It also can take ages.

Now lets have a closer look. -> read more

Enhanced by Zemanta

Single Post Navigation

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

