Helz-Design

7 – Silver Goose


7

7 G

GänsebratenRoasted GooseGlockenBells

Again Traditions 🙂

Every country, every family has different traditions when it comes to holiday roasts.
But everybody wants something special – especially for Christmas.

Most Germans like a well roasted goose.
Guess it takes as much afford and time as the holiday turkey on thanksgiving for our American friends.

My family never roasted a goose, my mom didn’t like it.
So her favorite was “Sauerbraten”, roast marinated with vinegar.

I am quite happy not to deal with roasts anymore since I became a vegetarian in 1999.

So my favorite Christmas dinner is a kind of goulash.
Originally I created it with Seitan or wheat gluten.
Meanwhile I can get so fantastic faked meat stuff, that I use that.

I need lots of different mushrooms – oyster mushrooms, shiitake, chanterelle, button mushroom … ,
fry them, add the wheat gluten or faked meat, fry even more.
Yes and I am cheating, with a sauce mix.
But spicing it up with cranberries and maybe a bit of red wine – and a pinch cinnamon.

Lovely with dumplings and red cabbage.

Can you already hear the Christmas bells?
Just listen to one of the most popular German tune “Süßer die Glocken nie klingen” – the sound of the bells is sweet. 🙂

lovehelz

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “7 – Silver Goose

  1. My mom makes sauerbraten and I’ve been told it is good. Her’s is the only one I’ve ever tried so I don’t have anything “authentic” to compare it to (she is British). I have never had goose but my ex’s sister ex was from Berlin and that is what he said they always had. I would like to try it. Whatever we serve I believe it is the spirit that really counts…. so, maybe I’ll take it easy and just serve some popcorn 🙂

    • you could come over for christmas to germany and then we will book a nice restaurant

      but yes the spirit is what counts.
      i usually cook one day the “better” way and the second day (2 christmas days + christmas eve in germany) i do something simple like spaghetti 🙂

