Helz-Design

Alessa – solving Problems in a hectic Work Flow


I am so thrilled … my guest today is Alessa, one of the two CarolinaHeartStrings. As many others I have met Alessa during the UltimateBlogChallenge. Recently she honored us with a guestpost about Bauhaus. I love the interview – every interview we have read so far – it shows so much more of the personality of our guest. This was really a blast. Thanks so much Alessa.

Tell us about yourself: (Name, Age, Family, Profession, Education).

My full name is Alessandra (Alessa) Bertoluzzi. I am 46, single with 2 kids (Savannah 16, Marshall (autistic) 14) and I have a wonderful (English) mother and boyfriend. I am a business owner of two businesses with the most active one being auto repair (Auto-1 of Summerville). I have an Associate’s Degree (2 year) in Information Processing (computer programming).

Why did you decide on this career/area of study?

I “fell into” auto repair since my ex-husband was a mechanic and we opened our first garage in Florida in 1990. We sold it and moved to SC where we had two garages when we divorced about 10 years ago. He got one and I got one.

What are your 3 favorite things about it?

As much as it frustrates me at times I do like the challenge of hectic work flow and problem resolution. I like customer service. I like being in a traditionally male profession.

What are the 2 or 3 least favorite things about it?

The need to micromanage and that problems are expected to be resolved so quickly.

The condescending attitude that some have towards those who get dirty making their living. And people underestimate the intelligence that a good mechanic must have, even if his spelling is poor.

Have you ever changed your career? If so: why?

Yes. I started out intending to be a computer programmer, but moving from NJ to Antigua and then to SW Florida lead me to areas where there were little job opportunities for that.

Who is the most interesting person you have met in your life?
What makes this person interesting for you?

I find my daughter very interesting. On many levels. I think her complexity makes her interesting to me. I find myself comparing her to me for answers about my own life.

How do you relax after a hard day?

Cold beer.

What or who helps you when you are feeling really down?

My boyfriend is my rock. He always knows the right thing to say or do. He keeps things in perspective for me.

If you could be someone else, who or what would you choose?

I would like to be a florist and spend a day or week arranging flowers.

What do you think, makes you strong?

I think my stubbornness makes me strong. Especially after my divorce holding on to a business and house when everyone said I shouldn’t.

Do you have a motto?

“It is what it is”. I try not to sweat the stuff I can’t do anything about.

Which book, movie or music would you recommend to our readers?

I like Dirty Dancing because of Babe’s strength, loyalty, sticking to her values, following her heart.

You have to leave to an island and can take five items with you.
Which items would that be and why?

I think I am using “items” rather loosely here and not including any loved (human) ones but 1- survival stuff (tent, knives, matches, etc.) 2-my dogs 3- collection of the books I’ve always meant to read 4-stuff to draw and write with 5-music and the ability to play it.

What do you first spot when meeting another person?

Their facial expressions: use of eyes, smile…

Do you have a secret talent?

Haha, I don’t know if this is a talent but I can sometimes interact with my dreams and change the direction they’re going in especially if they are getting scary.

Anything else you would like to tell our readers?

That I am an extremely grateful person that tends to see the glass half full. Every day we have is a gift.

Do you have a website / blog you would like me to promote?

The website that I have with my best friend of 20+ years, Tammie, is and we blog about food, travel and life in the Carolinas. We throw in a sprinkling of personal interests and try to provide well-rounded, enjoyable reads for our friends and readers. I also have a web site for a modular home business that services Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton and Dorchester Counties in coastal South Carolina. Modular homes are factory built sections that are assembled on site. They are very energy efficient and speed along the homebuilding process for the buyer. That business is Headwater Homes.

Single Post Navigation

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

