Helz-Design

Shawn: Wife, Mother, Entrepreneur …


I so love this little series of interviews. I love the fantastic women who sharing their thoughts with us. The stories behind the women are just amazing … what skills, powers, love, energy, believes, faith. Isn’t it just wonderful?
Please welcome today Shawn Snyder from Texas/USA. I met Shawn on Facebook in the Ultimate Blog Challenge group. A big thank you to her for sharing her story with us. Shawn has a great blog “The Odd Couple Blog” – helpful tips, interesting insights and now and then controversial discussions which makes us to rethink our own ideas.

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Shawn Snyder, 47, married with 3 grown kids. I am a wife & mother first and an entrepreneur. I am a 3rd party seller of books mostly Christian but all genre are available. I sell personalized children’s products such as books, music and movies. And I blog about marriage and family.

Why did you decide on this career?

I didn’t really decide on doing this. It found me and it fits with my lifestyle so that is what I am doing right now.

What are your 3 favorite things about it?

I love that maybe something I have done or lived through can help someone. That maybe they can grow as an individual or maybe some piece of advice can help someone’s marriage. I have the opportunity to put a voice to a subject that I think people are not taking serious enough and then after a tremendous amount of pain see that things could of been handled so much differently. And showing that the family unit is still alive and well and worth the battle to do what it takes to protect that unit.

What are the 2 or 3 least favorite things about it?

The hardest thing is when someone emails me and tells me their story and its full of pain. And they ask for help and there is nothing I can do but pray for them. And another thing that I dislike is when I see someone handling their marriage with out thought or feeling for their spouse.

Have you ever changed your career? 

No, I haven’t. But I think of my career as being wife and mother that I am. The other things I do I change as I feel lead. Right now I am pretty passionate about my message and think that people out there need to hear what I have to say.

Who is the most interesting person you have met in your life?
What makes this person interesting for you?

That is a hard one to answer. I have a couple of mentors that are interesting in the fact that they have succeeded where I would like to be successful. But people are pretty much the same if you strip off all the superficial outside surface.

How do you relax after a hard day?

A good book. I love to read!

What or who helps you when you are feeling really down?

My hubby. He is the most supportive person I know.
He tells me daily that he believes in me. Plus he gives me the freedom to fail and doesn’t keep track of it.

If you could be someone else, who or what would you choose?

Since I live in Texas, in June, July & August I would be someone who lives in a nice climate of 70’s & 80’s instead of the 100’s. But other then that I’m pretty content with being myself.

What do you think, makes you strong?

I was raised by a mother who told me that nobody owed me anything. If I wanted it to go get it. And I believed that all my life. So, I have that mindset which helps make me strong. Plus I have a faith that keeps me strong when things or people mean to hurt me I can rest in Christ.

Do you have a motto?

I was raised on a cattle ranch in Montana and this saying is popular there and is another I was raised on. Pull yourself up by the bootstraps and get going.

Which book, movie or music would you recommend to our readers?

I can’t do one in any category. Book for pleasure any Jane Austen book, book for business books by Krakowski, Green, Wilkerson. Movies – westerns, musicals and romantic comedies. Music – Lady Antebellum & Zak Brown Band.

You have to leave to an island and can take five items with you.
Which items would that be and why?

I live in Texas isn’t that hot and dry enough? lol. Food, water, bedding, Ipad with the library full of books & music & my hubbby!

What do you first spot when meeting another person?

Their eyes. You can tell alot from a person’s eyes. If they are truthful and trustworthy. If they are listening or bored. If they sparkle with the fun of life.

Do you have a secret talent?

If I do its a secret from me.

Anything else you would like to tell our readers?

That this has been really hard to answer with intelligent answers. lol

Do you have a website / blog you would like me to promote?

I would love to invite your readers to visit us at The Odd Couple Blog.

lovehelz

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Shawn: Wife, Mother, Entrepreneur …

  1. Thank you Helen for doing this. I can’t wait to see who is next.

  2. carolinaheartstrings on said:

    My British mom uses that same “pull yourself up by the bootstraps” comment that she says came from her dad…. interesting…

    AND… I love that your husband, Shawn, doesn’t keep track of failure. Too many people seem to just love doing that….

    Nice interview and nice getting to know you better.

    Great little group we have going, isn’t it Helen?

    xoxo Alessa

    • yes alessa this group is fantastic🙂

      and i have something similar on my mind as the motto of shawn. mine is – roughly translated – pulling oneself by the hair out of the mess.

      xoxox🙂

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

