Helz-Design

Enhancing Copies with Sarah Wood


Today I have the pleasure to introduce Sarah Wood to you. When I was looking around for more strong and interesting women to be m interview, Sarah had the courage to stand up. And today we have this pleasant result!

Tell us about yourself.

Sarah Wood, 62 going on 48, single with a brother, 3 cats and a dog, I am a copy enhancer mostly on the internet , and have a BA in History and Poli. Sci. received from Kent State University and Yes I was there then on May 10, 1970. Four dead in Ohio.

Why did you decide on this career/area of study?

I like to take existing copy and enhance it to direct response marketing formulas.
I love working with words to become more creative. To bring out benefits instead of features.

What are your 3 favorite things about it?

To clean it up, to make it more concise, to make it more appealing with hypnotic words.

What are the 2 or 3 least favorite things about it?

Finding people who will pay for it, explaining to people that I don’t have to understand their business in order to enhance their copy.

Have you ever changed your carreer? If so: why?

I was a very successful real estate agent, and I saw the tenets of my industry being bastardized and lost my passion. I woke up one morning and could no longer do it anymore and referred out my practice.

Who is the most interesting person you have met in your life? What makes this person interesting for you?

He is a singer, a piano player, a famous recording artist and an owner of an airline company, an overall success and absolutely interesting in conversation. He has traveled all over and has so many interesting stories. He never forgets a person’s name. He seems to have a photographic memory. Whatever he touches turns to gold, he doesn’t judge people by money or class, and doesn’t get impressed by his money. He is very unusual, eccentric and unforgettable.

How do you relax after a hard day?

I like to work it calms me down. Occasionally I go out to eat and see a movie or go to a play. Weekend excursions to Niagara or somewhere up north. I like to sleep in.

What or who helps you when you are feeling really down?

My boyfriend

If you could be someone else (for a day or week?), who or what would you choose?

I have no idea

What do you think, makes you strong?

All of the adversity I have been through.

Do you have a motto?

Follow your gut.

Which book, movie or music would you recommend to our readers?

I would recommend the movie “The Town.” It is a gangsta flick.

You have to leave to an island and can take five items with you. Which items would that be and why?

My boyfriend, my three cats and my dog – they are essential to me

What do you first spot when meeting another person?

Their eyes

Do you have a secret talent?

My grandfather taught me how to pick up a spoon using my forefinger in the hollow and my thumb on the outside of the spoon by creating a moisture vacuum. Everyone around me tries to emulate me at the restaurant until they realize how stupid we all look and then they all stop.

Anything else you would like to tell our readers?

Follow your gut

You can meet Sarah on the interwebs. She has her own site Evolving Advisors, you can connect with her on twitter and you can find her on facebook too. Please hop over and give her a like.

And a big shout out to the ladies, girls, women – please be my interview. Just drop me a line.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Enhancing Copies with Sarah Wood

  1. Great interview. I love reading about all these strong women.

  2. Nice to meet you Sarah!

  3. Some of us have guts so big, we HAVE to follow them…
    Great interview. Nice to meet you Sarah Jo!

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

