Helz-Design

Helen … the Self-Interview


Ladies :) … I am still looking for interview partners. So feel free to contact me if you are interested!
What makes you a suitable interview partner? Easy – being female and being interested🙂

Today I am doing a little experiment … interviewing myself. Yes I demand my 15 minutes of fame too. All the where’s and about’s … just read me.

Tell us about yourself:

Helz-DesignMy name is Helen Bogun, some of my friends call me Helz. I am a Graphic-Designer living in Berlin/Germany. Beside my profession, which I really love, I am single mother of a teenage son, which is quite a challenge. My son and me share our live with two wonderful, lovely but also demanding male cats. So I am AlphaWoman among a little herd of males. Makes me feel like the BeeQueen.

Why did you decide on this career/area of study?

I have to confess, that graphic design wasn’t on my agenda when I left high school. I attended university to study communication science, English literature and German. My goal was becoming a journalist. Later on, after moving to Berlin I changed my major to Politics. Students loan were gone and I had to earn money for my living. So I ended up in a little company where I had the pleasure to work together with wonderful people. That company used to translate “Technical Documentations” from German to any language the customers could think of. My job was to make sure that all the lovely manuals looked the same way as they did in German.

My first steps into the wide area of Media Design.

Later on I took some classes to learn Photoshop, the time when I found my brush and canvas … the right medium to express myself.

What are your 3 favorite things about it?

o       Being creative

o       My independence

o       So many interesting tasks to do

What are the 2 or 3 least favorite things about it?

Some customers have the idea that you work day and night. Sometimes it is true, sometimes not. I try to differentiate between: I want to work now! This can be any time. And there is a time I am available for a customer.

Actually there is not that much I don’t like about my job. Maybe another nasty stuff is paying. Some demand high speed service but are more than lowest speed payers.

Have you ever changed your career? If so: why?

You can tell so.
I wanted to become a journalist, but ended up as a graphic designer. Lucky me know every step how to do the newspaper: from researching for a report up to printing.

Who is the most interesting person you have met in your life?
What makes this person interesting for you?

There are so many interesting people in my life. Just recall all the lovely interviews with the fantastic women we had so far.

One fascinating guy I met is my friend G. He has had such an interesting life so far, met so many people, and talks in a very lovely way about it. Ok – sometimes when he tells you the same story again and again … it can get a bit boring … but usually I have to tell him to write a book about it!

How do you relax after a hard day?

I wish I had a real bath tub, then you would find me after a hard day in my bath tube, an ocean of burning candles around me, assorted chocolates next to me, maybe a glass of champagne and a good book – me in the water.

But heck – I don’t have one.

So I sit on the sofa, no champagne, some chocolate, some candles, TV with a crime story and me knitting. Can be fun  too.

What or who helps you when you are feeling really down?

Talking to my friends. That is fantastic!

If you could be someone else (for a day or week??),
who or what would you choose?

Maybe I should start to feel sorry for this question.

Sometimes I wish I could be somebody else, not a specific person, but maybe with certain life circumstances, just to see how this feels.

So I would like to be a man sometimes.

Professions with no specific gender: politician, ship captain, pilot, traveler, maybe president or queen of a country …I am just curious how it feels🙂

What do you think, makes you strong?

That means necessarily that I am strong. Most times I don’t have the feeling to be strong.

But one feature is my ability to learn, and to learn quickly. To be able to comprehend difficult subjects very quickly.

Do you have a motto?

More a quote: Think different – the old Apple slogan.

Which book, movie or music would you recommend to our readers?

My top movie is “When Harry met Sally” … nothing better.

Although I am not in romantic stuff usually.

Book: Dan Brown: DaVinciCode

Music: Check out Josh Woodward, a great musician from Ohio – his website.

You have to leave to an island and can take five items with you.
Which items would that be and why?

I am a vegetarian … so I need nothing to fish and hunt.

o       1 Set of Needles  – to sew

o       1 Collection of seeds – to plant

o       1 iPad include sun collector – to be entertained

o       1 Son – to care for him

o       1 Basket with the cats in – for not leaving them beind

5 x 1 = 5

HA

What do you first spot when meeting another person?

Their eyes and face.

Do you have a secret talent?

I hope so … now we have to define “secret”– secret from me or from you?

Do I want to reveal the secret?

Ok I sew, I love to sing and when I was in university I learned how to play trombone. No I am not playing it anymore … don’t even have a trombone.

Anything else you would like to tell our readers?

I love orange.

And I plan still to run around in chucks when I am really old, but not gray.

lovehelz

Liked what you read?

Than join my newsletter today – your privacy will always be respected!

or like me on facebook

All Text and Graphics, if not mentioned otherwise are
© by Helen Bogun of Helz-Design.
Don’t repost or reblog without permission.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Helen … the Self-Interview

  1. carolinaheartstrings on said:

    Fun post. Love how you are totally “real” and refreshing. Some things I think I knew or sensed about you and others were revealing. Thanks for sharing more of Helen with us!

  2. Very interesting indeed🙂

  3. theoddcoupleblogcom on said:

    That was fun! All we wanted to know about Helen.

  4. Great Post Helen! You make a good interviewer and interviewee.🙂 Maybe I could help out if you think I’d be ok🙂

  5. Hi Helen, what a lovely interview, and what a cool idea to do that, you didn’t have to look far to find a really interesting subject!!!
    Loved reading it x
    Susi

  6. Your a great interview subject Helen! Hope you find some more lovely ladies who want to contribute – can I re-blog you next whateva Wednesday? x

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

