Helz-Design

Dianne, the Knitting Queen


Lovely Wednesday brings lovely guests. Most of you know her so far, but always interesting to get to know each other better. So please welcome the knitting queen of Knitting Galore Dianne Jones.

Tell us about yourself:

My Name is Dianne I am 57yrs old, I live in Turkey with my husband Mehmet. We will have been married 6yrs this coming November. I have a daughter Clare and son inlaw Paul and a beautiful 6months old grand daughter Gracie, they all live in Manchester England. Not really sure what to say about profession, I am a Home Economist by qualification but now supposedly retired. Ha! I seem to be busier now more than ever!

Why did you decide on this career/area of study?

I always had a love of cooking, I made my first wedding cake at the age of 12yrs. I suppose I also went into this area to prove my school cookery teacher wrong because she said I’d never succeed .

What are your 3 favourite things about it?

1, I love to create and love to see a finished dish that looks nothing like the raw ingredients. 2, I enjoy experimenting with different flavours. 3, seeing an empty plate when someone has eaten every morsel.

What are the 2 or 3 least favourite things about it?

1, washing up 2, washing up,3 washing up! lol

Have you ever changed your carreer? If so: why?

Several times. I started as Home economist for Sharp writing cookery books for microwaves, I left that when I became pregnant with my daughter. On the break up of my marriage some 15yrs later I needed to go back to work so got a job demonstrating microwaves and later I opened my own microwave cookery school. I taught cookery for a couple of years but had to sell up when I became ill with Hodgkins lymphoma. To cut a long story short some 12yrs ago I packed up and came to live in Turkey at first it was great doing nothing just being a holiday maker but I’ve never been one for doing nothing so I opened a restaurant. Couldn’t find a chef I thought was good enough so I did all the cooking myself. Sold it a couple of years ago, the heat was too much for me. In the summer the temperature gets up to high 50s plus the heat of the kitchen! Just too much!! Now I knit, blog about knitting and have just stared a knitting charity.

Who is the most interesting person you have met in your life?
What makes this person interesting for you?

I have been lucky enough to meet many many interesting people but to choose one I would have to say Sting. I met him and his wife Trudy about 20 yrs ago. Apart from being a talented musician (I love all his music) he is a very nice person.

How do you relax after a hard day?

Sit on my balcony looking out to sea with a Vodka and cola.

What or who helps you when you are feeling really down?

Talking to my grand daughter on skype.

If you could be someone else (for a day or week??),
who or what would you choose?

Superman would love to fly around helping people in need.

What do you think, makes you strong?

All the hard knocks life as thrown at me.

Do you have a motto? 

I expect to pass through life but once. If therefore, there be any kindness I can show, or any good thing I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again. ~William Penn

Which book, movie or music would you recommend to our readers?

I use to read all the time but it’s been awhile, I like a good gruesome murder so any of Martina Cole’s but I know they’re not to everyone’s taste.

You have to leave to an island and can take five items with you.
Which items would that be and why?

First ofcourse some knitting needles and yarn – gotta keep my hands busy. 2 music – love my reggae, 3 coffee – everythings ok after a coffee. 4 my lap top but suppose that defeats the object really. 5. my cats – oops can leave the husband but not the cats lol.

What do you first spot when meeting another person?

Eyes, they say they are the windows to the soul and I believe that. You can tell a lot about a person by looking into the eyes.

Do you have a secret talent?

I like to sing – although some who have heard me might not say it’s a talent🙂 I have been known to sing at the dreaded Karaoke!

Anything else you would like to tell our readers?

Hope they are still awake🙂

After this wonderful reading … yes Dianne we are still awake … jump over to Dianne’s blog and enjoy her wonderful knitting patterns. Give her a like on facebook for knittinggalore and for LillyLoveInTheLanguageOfYarn.

Wanna be my interview? Drop me a line!

lovehelz

Liked what you read?

Than join my newsletter today – your privacy will always be respected!

or like me on facebook

All Text and Graphics, if not mentioned otherwise are
© by Helen Bogun of Helz-Design.
Don’t repost or reblog without permission.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Dianne, the Knitting Queen

  1. carol menzer on said:

    I have not been able to get the pattern diamond cardigan little girl to work do you have an updated version? I noticed other comments having problems too.

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

