Helz-Design

Petra welcomes back creativity


Today I am welcoming Petra. She is a long term German friend. As so many of my friends I have met her on the Internet in a very special forum. Thanks so much for taking this interview. Petra did it in German, but I got allowance to translate it for our English-speaking friends. The original German text can be found here.

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Petra and I am 40, OMG am I really that old already? After spending half og my life searching for Mr. Right, I decided to give up searching and be a happy single.

I was trained as a ladies’ tailor, but I never worked in this field. It was pretty difficult to get a proper job in this field so I ended up working at a super market cashier. I worked there until 2004. Since that time I am sick and not longer able to work. Meanwhile I retired.

Best thing: I found my creative vein again and I am trying anything. By the moment I am back to tailoring … this is a lot of fun.

Why did you decide on this career/area of study?

I always liked to be creative. That’s why I decided to become a ladies’s tailor. At that time clothes for big girls have been quite expensive  … so 2 things became one.

What are your 3 favorite things about it?

To be creative, to work with fabrics and other stuff.

I really love to create something new from old, used textiles and new fabrics. Most fun is to sew a present for dear friends and to watch how pleased they are about it.

What are the 2 or 3 least favorite things about it?

Oh dear, what do I not like? Really the worst thing is cutting out and before that drawing the cut, that’s pretty tiresome.

Who is the most interesting person you have met in your life? What makes this person interesting for you?

A very interesting person is my physiotherapist. She is a very inspiring person, lots of endurance and diversity, I never watched that at another person before.

She has such a wide range and keeps constantly learning to extend the field of her patients.

If you could be someone else, who or what would you be?

Oh dear, no there is no specific person. I just want to be the way I am.

Do you have a motto?

Live today and don’t think of tomorrow.

You have to leave for a lonely island and can take five items with you. Which items would that be and why?

Persumed that there will be no electricity I will some practical things with me.

1. a knife

2. a book on “how to survive on a lonely island”

3. one 5 l plastic container (or a 1.5 gallone container) – lockable

4. an axe

5. a plastic foile

I guess all this stuff is important for surviving – just the pure necessity – anything else is not important.

Which Animal would you like to be?

A snake, don’t ask me why.

Anything else you would like to tell our readers?

Are you really interested in this? I think there are so many more interesting things than this interview of mine.

Do you have a website you would like to promote?

I have a page at Facebook. You can have a look at the stuff, I have created so far. You can even buy some of it.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Petra welcomes back creativity

  1. theoddcoupleblogcom on said:

    Yay! You brought back your interviews. I love reading them.

What do you think of the previous post? Please share your thoughts:

